An Evening in Puglia

I’ve never been to Italy, but it’s somewhere I’ve always dreamed of going, in large part for the food. Thanks to Toronto chef, Massimo Bruno, last week I was lucky enough to experience a true taste of Puglia.

Chef Massimo

Chef Massimo

Massimo is an Italian chef from the Puglia region of Italy. He’s been living and working in Toronto since 2001 and if you have the chance to dine with him, you’re in for a real treat. This talented chef hosts monthly supper clubs out of his studio, runs cooking classes and works as a personal chef. Oh, and did I mention he also runs culinary tours in Puglia?!

Delicious food, great company and plenty of vino at Massimo's studio

Delicious food, great company and plenty of vino at Massimo’s studio

When I arrived at Massimo’s King St. studio, I had no idea what I was in store for. I’d received a tweet inviting me to an event promising plenty of food and Italian wine. Who can say no to that?!  I love pasta, pizza, gelato and all foods Italian. So much so, that I once gained close to 10 pounds by eating gelato twice a day for three weeks while in Europe.

Massimo was the perfect host. Wine was flowing throughout the evening, as myself and about a dozen bloggers dined family-style at the long harvest table in his studio. He kept us laughing throughout dinner, entertaining us with anecdotes on Italian cooking, as dish after dish of mouth-watering food appeared in front of us.

The menu for the evening included the following:

  • Focaccia Barese
  • Burrata with roasted tomatoes and pesto

    So good I had three servings!

    So good I had three servings!

  • Roasted oyster mushroom salad on arugula
  • Eggplant parmigana
  • Handmade Cavatelli with tomatoes, arugula and salty ricotta (I loved watching as he made the pasta in front of us!)
Massimo making the cavatelli

Massimo making the cavatelli

Homemade Cavatelli

Homemade Cavatelli

  • Pesce al Sale (sea salt crusted euro seabass)
  • Insalata
  • Flourless ricotta lemon cake
  • Italian vino
The perfect way to end the meal!

The perfect way to end the meal!

It was such a wonderful evening that he couldn’t get us to leave. We had been transported all the way to Puglia, for a very lively dinner that I won’t forget any time soon. By 10 p.m. the group started to disperse and I made my way home one very full and very happy girl.

For more information on Massimo and his culinary offerings, visit www.massimobruno.com

, , , , , ,

About AdventuressAbroad

adventure seeker.traveling fanatic.food lover.occasional blabbermouth.travel-based PR professional.

View all posts by AdventuressAbroad

Sign me up!

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

3 Comments on “An Evening in Puglia”

  1. twoblackdoggies Says:

    Sounds like a great night and what delicious looking food 🙂

    Reply

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Alberobello Puglia southern Italy | mystylitaly - May 17, 2013

    […] An Evening in Puglia (adventuressabroad.com) […]

Leave a Reply

