A Look Back at 2012

I can’t believe it’s been over a year since I wrote about my 2011 travel experiences. Now that we’re into 2013, I realized it’s time to take a look back at the past year in travel. 2012 was very good to me!

  • A return to Grenada, ‘The Spice of the Caribbean’ –  I’ve been lucky to work with The Grenada Board of Tourism as a PR representative in Canada, which has led me to visit the island on a number of occasions. Each time I return I find more and more things that I love about this tiny Eastern Caribbean Island. From the friendly people, the beautiful beaches, to the abundance of fresh nutmeg (I’ve used plenty of it over the holidays this year!), this is an island you just don’t want to leave. A visit this past May, allowed me to witness gigantic Leatherback Turtles nesting on one of the island’s beaches. These massive creatures (up to 1,000 pounds), come crawling out of the ocean late at night to lay their eggs on the beach. Guided by the light of the moon, they’ll come back to where they were born to nest. No flash photography is allowed,  as it will disorient the turtles and send them back to the ocean before they finish laying their eggs. Conservation groups such as Ocean Spirits ensure that these endangered animals remain protected.

    One of Grenada's many beautiful beaches

    One of Grenada’s many beautiful beaches

  • Peru, Peru, Peru – A trip to Peru with some of my close friends this past June was my first visit to South America. I’m still amazed by how much we fit into 10 days. From experiencing the awe-inspiring ruins of Machu Picchu, hiking Wayna Picchu, the 10 hour train trip from Cusco to Puno, to the disappointment of the floating islands, this trip was a major highlight of 2012. There’s so much to do in this country, one of the hardest parts of planning a trip here is deciding what you can fit in.

    World famous Machu Picchu

    World famous Machu Picchu

  • While in Peru we stayed at some beautiful properties, including Isla Suasi, an eco-lodge on a private island on Lake Titicaca. Run completely on solar energy, staying at this ‘green’ property was a highlight of my time in Peru. I fell in love with the alpacas (much cuter than llamas!) who live on the island and wish I could have brought one home with me!

    The aplacas of Isla Suasi

    The aplacas of Isla Suasi

  • Birthday weekend in Niagara-on-the-Lake – Just over an hour from Toronto, this is one of the best wine regions in all of Canada. A spontaneous weekend here in mid-June was a great surprise for my birthday. We stayed at a lovely B & B and spent the day visiting numerous wineries where we sampled some of Canada’s top wines.
  • A girlfriend’s bachelorette party was the perfect excuse to visit New York for a weekend in July. But as they say, what happens in New York, stays in New York!
  • A beach vacation on Florida’s Emerald Coast – This is one of the most picturesque places in all of Florida and I enjoyed five days of beach time here in August. We had perfect weather until our very last day, which was when I happened to finally take my camera out. The pictures just don’t do it justice, so you’ll just have to take my word that this is one of the prettiest beaches in Florida. The water is a gorgeous emerald green and was so warm it felt like you were sitting in the bath. One afternoon we actually watched some fishermen catch a shark from the beach. I was a bit weary of getting in the water after that (although it didn’t stop me!). We were staying only a few short minutes from Seaside, a unique planned community, where the movie The Truman Show was filmed.

    Florida's Emerald Coast

    Florida’s Emerald Coast on a gray day

  • Long weekend in Boston, followed by a cliffside wedding in Newport – A September wedding in Newport was the perfect excuse to visit Boston for a couple days. We were lucky to have absolutely beautiful weather the entire time. Wandering through Harvard campus had me wishing I was back in university and I’m itching to return to Salem, home of the infamous Salem witch trials. Visitors here can take part in paranormal tours, which is something I’d love to do next time around.

    Harvard - the birthplace of Facebook

    Harvard – the birthplace of Facebook

  • I couldn’t leave Newport without a proper lobster lunch. I’ve learned that I shouldn’t ever attempt to eat a whole lobster again, as it just didn’t end well. And I also felt a bit bad eating something with eyes. I was a sight to behold with my messy bib and mangled lobster. I even managing to spray myself in the eye with lemon juice.

    Lobster lunch

    Lobster lunch

  • A visit to Philly, home to the famous cheesesteak – In late September I spent a few days for work in Philadelphia and loved every minute of it. Lonely Planet just named Philly number four on their top 10 list of US travel destinations for 2013 (and for good reason). The city has one of the top art scenes in North America. The museums, art galleries and public art are incredible. Don’t even get me started on the food!

    Garden of Delight - a part of Mural Mile

    Garden of Delight – a part of Mural Mile

  • A chilly weekend in Montreal – Although not the best time of year to visit, we had a great time exploring  Montreal at the beginning of November. Old Montreal is without a doubt my favourite part of this city and it’s full of so much history. The city is also known for its great dining options. One of the best meals we had was at the Dominion Square Tavern. I loved the energy of this place (not to mention the food!), which first opened its doors in 1927. And of course, no visit to Montreal is complete without poutine, a dish of french fries, cheese curds and gravy, a Canadian staple!
A very chilly day in Montreal

A very chilly day in Montreal

Over the holidays, I’ve been staycationing in Toronto and it has been wonderful! However, on Monday it’s back to work and reality. Looking back on 2012, I’d say it was a damn good year. Lots of US based travel (including a number of new cities) and a pretty major trip to Peru.

Next up – some local travel. I’ll be heading back to Niagara-on-the-Lake for the Ice Wine Festival later this month and can’t wait to sample some of Canada’s top wine.

, , , , , , , , ,

About AdventuressAbroad

adventure seeker.traveling fanatic.food lover.occasional blabbermouth.travel-based PR professional.

View all posts by AdventuressAbroad

Sign me up!

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

6 Comments on “A Look Back at 2012”

  1. twoblackdoggies Says:

    Happy New Year! Looking forward to reading about your travels in 2013 🙂

    Reply

  2. roamingtheworld Says:

    Looks like you had a packed travel filled year!

    Reply

  3. A Six Pack of Stories Says:

    Looks like a great year! Was just in Toronto earlier this year and loved it.

    Reply

    • AdventuressAbroad Says:

      It was definitely a great year! It always make me happy to hear that visitors like Toronto. It’s one of my favourite cities, but then again, I’m probably a little biased! Hope 2013 is off to a good start for you.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

