Images of Angkor

December 3, 2012

Asia, Destinations, Travel Photos

While watching an old episode of Anthony Bourdain’s No Reservations last night, I was reminded of what a special place Cambodia is. I’ve been twice and wouldn’t hesitate to visit for a third time. I’ve even managed to convince my parents to take an extended trip to South East Asia and they’ll be visiting Cambodia this winter. I’ll be living vicariously through them, as they travel through my favourite part of the world.

A stunning sunset at Angkor Wat

A stunning sunset at Angkor Wat

The country of Cambodia is rich in history, so much of which was nearly destroyed by the brutal Khmer Rouge regime. It’s hard to imagine that less than 40 years ago, a horrific genocide took place here.

Despite the Khmer Rouge’s attempt to destroy Cambodia civilization and history, the temples of Angkor remain largely intact. They are one of the main reasons that visitors head to Cambodia (*Side note, yesterday marked the 17th Annual Angkor Wat International Half Marathon. I’d never have guessed it was the site of a yearly race!).

Angkor Wat, the main temple in this expansive Hindu temple complex (dedicated to the God Vishnu) was built back in the 12th century by King Suryavarman II of the Khmer Empire. When the French ‘discovered’ Angkor Wat in the 1860’s, it was home to a wealthy monastery with both monks and slaves. However, there were extensive periods of time where the temples lay abandoned. This UNESCO World Heritate Site is one of the most impressive pieces of history I’ve ever seen.

Here are a handful of my favourite images from Angkor, taken on two separate occasions.

My favourite photo taken at Angkor

One of my favourite photos taken at Angkor

One of the many magical spots at Angkor

One of the many magical spots at Angkor

There I am!

There I am!

A quiet moment

A quiet moment

Part of the temple complex

Part of the temple complex

Amazing carvings

Amazing carvings

More carvings

Sadly, poverty is still rampant

Sadly, poverty is still rampant

Part of the land

Part of the land

A Cambodian wedding - I love the pink outfits!

A Cambodian wedding – I love the pink outfits! This was a surprising sight.

, , , , , , , ,

About AdventuressAbroad

adventure seeker.traveling fanatic.food lover.occasional blabbermouth.travel-based PR professional.

View all posts by AdventuressAbroad

Sign me up!

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

2 Comments on “Images of Angkor”

  1. Ayngelina Says:

    Love the photos. Cambodia really is a special place.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

