Petra – A City of Romance?

“Don’t leave! Stay here with us. Come and live with me in my cave,” said my Bedouin guide. Now that’s what I call romance!

Who would have thought my day at Petra would end with a sort-of marriage proposal? My guide was young, so I’d likely have been wife number one, but caves aren’t my thing. I need a soft pillow to lay my head on at night. However, it certainly made for an interesting day in Petra.

Petra by night (a bit hard to see in the dark)

Jordan’s ancient city of Petra is one of the most incredible places I’ve ever seen. It’s hard to fathom that over 2000 years ago, the Nabataeans carved the city entirely out of the rock. It wasn’t until the early 1800s that a European explorer rediscovered it, after it lay untouched for centuries.

Old Bedouin man resting in the shade

In 1985, Petra was declared a UNESCO World Heritage site and excavations are still continuing. Apparently, only about 15% of the city has actually been uncovered. It’s exciting to think of what else might still be discovered.

The Treasury, made famous by the movie Indiana Jones

The Treasury is the most famous site here. Many people may recognize it from a little movie called Indiana Jones. However, there are so many other spots besides this to discover while you’re here.

Trusty camels

The Monastery is another most-see location within Petra. However, there are a grueling 800+ stairs to climb to get there! Rather than pass out from the heat on our way up (it was the middle of June and smoking hot), we took the lazy option and took donkeys to the top with two chatty Bedouin guides.

Posing with my guide overlooking a stunning backdrop

The donkey ride was well worth the sore bum (not so much the flea bites). And our guides were entertaining, spending hours taking us around to the various sites, as well as to some other spots we might not otherwise have seen.

The Monastery

Both young guides had grown up in the area and each had an interesting story to tell. One had learned seven languages from the tourists he worked with each day. The other came from a large Bedouin family and his father had four wives! It wasn’t until the marriage proposals began late in to the afternoon, that we decided we better call it a day. As much as I loved Petra, I wasn’t quite prepared for cave dwelling.

Keeping a watchful eye on things

Desert flowers, a beautiful surprise in such a desolate landscape

, , , , , , ,

About AdventuressAbroad

adventure seeker.traveling fanatic.food lover.occasional blabbermouth.travel-based PR professional.

View all posts by AdventuressAbroad

Sign me up!

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

6 Comments on “Petra – A City of Romance?”

  1. twoblackdoggies Says:

    Hard to imagine the scale but the monastery photo really puts it into perspective.

    Reply

    • AdventuressAbroad Says:

      Petra is one of the most impressive places I’ve ever visited. What amazed me the most was that it is literally carved right into the rock. Would love to have witnessed the construction of this magical place. Thanks for commenting!

      Reply

  2. elatlboy Says:

    Great photos, very historic place. Yep Indiana Jones is one of the first things that came to mind when I saw The Treasury photo. Hope to get there some day!

    Reply

  3. Ardun Ward Says:

    I like your theory on being the first wife 🙂 Great post, i’m going in April and can’t wait! Thanks

    Reply

  4. janalinesmalman Says:

    Great pictures! I visited Petra last year and found it amazing!! I will definitely go back again.Thank you for visiting my blog. I appreciate the time you took to stop by. Hope you have a great week!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

