Haunted Happenings in Edinburgh

I love the city of Edinburgh, but there’s definitely something spooky about it. And with hundreds of years of history, how can there not be?

Edinburgh Castle

If you’re interested in ghosts and the paranormal and you’re looking to get your freak on, then this is the city for you!  Here are a couple of tours that are sure to send chills down your spine.

This city looks creepy, right?

City of the Dead Ghost Tours – I clearly remember jumping out of my skin and screaming as we stood in the middle of a graveyard, listening to tales of the Mackenzie Poltergeist. I’ve done ghost tours in various cities and this is hands down the scariest.  Although I didn’t encounter the Mackenzie Poltergeist, apparently 450 people have, since the first sighting in 1999.

The Real Mary King’s Close – This is another tour that will have you believing in ghosts! The close is located beneath Edinburgh’s Royal Mile. It’s an area where people once lived, over 400 years ago. Except now it literally lies beneath the ground (a city beneath a city).

I wish I could say I actually encountered a ghostly presence on one of these tours, however I had no such luck. I’d love to see a ghost, but apparently I’m overly eager, as they never decide to materialize for me!

Here I am, looking scared or should I say, scary (not my best photo).

, , , , , ,

About AdventuressAbroad

adventure seeker.traveling fanatic.food lover.occasional blabbermouth.travel-based PR professional.

View all posts by AdventuressAbroad

Sign me up!

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

2 Comments on “Haunted Happenings in Edinburgh”

  1. El Boquerón Viajero Says:

    We love Edinburgh!! We were there and enjoy the city a lot! Greetings from Spain!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

